top of page

The Art of Failing


Failure. We all try to avoid this very crucial aspect of life whether it be in our art or our careers, or our dreams. This year I have come to understand why these shortcoming turn into life long lessons. Keep reading for my take on my most recent failures and how I learned from them.

 

Last year around my birthday I decided that I was going to finally get back into the art scene after a long 4 year hiatus. I can't really explain what kept me in hiding for so long - until now.

At the time I was just creating in my little studio and posting them online for my friends to see. Having an opening, a solo show or even a community art show was beyond what I was willing to give to the vast public at that time. I think it was a mixture of fear- as I was and still am - in the learning process of my art. At one point it didn't feel as genuine and it also felt like I was doing the same subjects over and over again. Why would I want to put myself out there? But then it hit me. I was creating for a reason and that my voice needed to be heard through my art and I had to start showing again.

 

Before the hiatus I had been showing since I was 19 years old. I was a little bolder back then and would waltz into galleries to show my art and 9/10 times they would allow me. As I got older and I saw the great skill of my adult peers and it stifled my own passions to show my art in galleries, so I hid away. Finally after some time, I came to the conclusion that it did not matter what I thought about where I should be artistically and put away that very stifling voice of comparison and sought out art calls once again.

 

In December 2017 after rekindling a friendship of an art gallery owner after many years, I was asked to show at Negative Space Art Gallery in Cleveland, Ohio for a solo art show. Very excited, I agreed and put together the "What's The Matter?" collective for the art opening. Opening night was a major success as I had a great turn out of friends, family and newcomers. It was a personal triumph. Little did I know all of the rejection - or failure as I saw it - that was going to come the following year.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that I had put in for a couple of juried art shows and won awards for a few of them. One major award I won was through the National Arts Program - which I helped curate through the City of Cleveland and was put in the professional category as I teach art for a living - and actually won first place! That really gave me a boost in self confidence and pushed me to enter as many art shows as I saw calls for.

 

As I entered these calls for artists I had to start to pay for each entry in the chances that I would get in. When you enter many art calls and make these payments - often at $30 per entry - can add up quickly! Then the emails started pouring in. "We regret to inform you . . ." was the first line of each email from these galleries that I have always wanted to show in. I have to admit, it took a shot to not only my wallet but my ego. I was hurt. Those feelings of not being good enough to the artist community around me began to settle in and I just wanted to hide away all over again.

Something inside me told me to keep on trying though. That even though I was being rejected I was being redirected into something even greater. I have never been much of a quitter so I knew in my heart of hearts that I needed to keep on entering. It paid off because I then went on to win two more awards - second place in an art contest and in a juried show (see my news & updates page for details).

What I learned is that these failures very soon turned into triumphs! Being an artist has always been a part of my dreams and when you want to do something you will fall, you will be challenged,

but you have to get back up and try again! Learn from your failures and you will succeed.


bottom of page