top of page

Toxicity in the Art World


While there is negativity, competition and bad sportsmanship in the athletic world you might be surprised that it also exists in the art world. Read on about my experience dealing with the toxic nature of artists in the modern art scene.

First, I would like to say that I am fairly new to the art scene. I have quietly submitted a hopeful once or twice a year to juried and non juried shows in the Cleveland area for the last ten years, but only recently have I been submitting art work to galleries on a regular basis.

2018 was a big push in my artistic career. I submitted artwork to nine gallery showings and begun my journey having my work featured in Scene magazine by collaborating with new local business owners. I was able to take home one Best of Show, three first place ribbons, two second place ribbons and one honorable mention. I'm not here to toot my own horn but these awards were such a great and wonderful surprise to me after being in hiding and being an underground artist for so many years. Last year I decided to step out of my comfort zone and experiment with new types of art, while also keeping my own personal style. Last year was a huge triumph for me.

Finally, I was starting to be noticed. When I would see the judges at the opening I would ask them what made them chose me as a prize winner? I didn't think I was anything special. I was still learning and growing in my art. They would tell me that it was because my work stood out, that watercolor was a difficult medium to work in and that there was nothing else out there like it. It was a good feeling to contribute something new and exciting to the art world. The real triumph was finally being able to use my art as a catalyst, getting inspired by myself and others and propelling my art to the front of the line of priority.

This year I took a different turn in my artwork and incorporated more mixed media and challenged myself to paint in black and white. It's not an easy thing to do, but I'm having the best time doing it. I'm following current art trends, but at the same time putting my own spin on it. It has paid off very well. Because of this recognition comes the army of bitter people (trolls) that have something to say about a new artists success.

Some back story - I have recently been a part of several online artist communities and for the past year it has been nothing but encouraging words, soft critiques and sharing our intimate artwork with one another. To me it was a great way to spread positivity and encouragement between artists as well as put out open calls and spread the word. I never knew about Cleveland's artist dark side until most recently. There were some individuals coming out of the wood work saying that my art did not deserve to win and that they "had been doing art for over 20+ years". What was supposed to be a wonderful evening turned dark because of individual attacks on my artwork and my character. Never had I publicly shot down another artist before, but this was my reality.

This was not the first time and I'm sure it won't be the last. People will talk, people will get angry or jealous of your artist work. Don't let them take away your passion or your happiness. This goes to say that you should also keep hurtful things to yourself. Never downgrade someones art, help them be a better artist, and lift them up. We are not each others competition, we are all here to make the world a more colorful place to be.

To see publications about my recent collaborations, shows and awards tap on my News & Updates page!


bottom of page